Telescope Tripod

Independent Review of Mobile Phone 6X Zoom Telescope & Tripod for iPhone 3G

The Nobel Prize is one of those honors which is worth calling the highest achievement of a person. Nobel laureates are highly distinguished and extremely honorable individuals/organizations.

History: Etymology & Initial scenario

The Nobel Prize is named upon Alfred Nobel, who was a notable chemist and engineer and the discoverer of the dynamite. He died in 1896, the 10th of December. After his death there was a hullabaloo and cynicism regarding his will, the provisions of which meant to serve purposes quite unnatural (awarding prizes) and this stirred up criticism. Subsequent to more than a few years of persistence and conflicts, his will gained shape, and thereafter the Nobel foundation came to existence. The Norwegian parliament approved the will after which some prize awarding organizations came in to cooperate, and in 1901, the first Nobel Prize was awarded. This prestigious award is granted to excellent achievers in the field of Chemistry, Physics, Medicine, Literature, Peace and Economics. Economics was not initially one of the subjects; it was only in 1969, that this subject started sharing the honor. In some cases the prize has gone to the same person more than once.

Venues: Now and then

The very first award ceremony took place in the Old Royal Academy of Music, Stockholm and so was the venue for the next 25 years. Since then barring a few years, this esteemed award giving observance took place in the Stockholm Concert Hall. In 1975 the venue shifted to St Erik Int'l Fair to accommodate a larger audience. In 2001, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Nobel Prizes, 130 pre-laureates attended the gathering. As of now, the ceremonies take place in Stockholm for all categories except for the Peace category, for which the venue is Oslo.

Nobel laureates: First (1901) & Last (2008)

In chemistry,

1901 - Jacobus H. Van 't Hoff

2008 - Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie, Roger Y. Tsien

In physics,

1901 - Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen

2008 - Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa

In medicine,

1901 - Emil von Behring

2008 - Harald zur Hausen, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Luc Montagnier

In literature,

1901 - Sully Pruddhome

2008 - Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio

In peace,

1901 - Henry Dunant, Frédéric Passy

2008 - Martti Ahtisaari

In economics,

1969 - Ragnar Frisch, Jan Tinbergen

2008 - Paul Krugman

Other eminent Nobel laureates (of Indian origin):

2001 - V.S. Naipaul, Literature

1913 - Rabindranath Tagore, Literature

1979 - Mother Teresa, Peace

2006 - Mohammad Younis, Economics

The award/prize:

A Nobel laureate receives the medal, a diploma and a certificate confirming the prize money/value. The medal varies slightly depending on the award giving committee and also on the category. By and large though, the Nobel Prize looks quite similar. The medal in general has Alfred Nobel's depiction in it. The Nobel Prize for peace has an inscription, a line which means in English "For the peace and brotherhood of men". The medal is engraved with the relevant year and the name of the laureate. The peace prize was designed by Gustav Vigeland.

Other facts:

The award is disseminated annually on the tenth of December, the death anniversary of Alfred Nobel.

The Nobel Prize recognizes accomplishments in every notable subject but the only exception to it is Mathematics. It was and is still talked about. Noble mathematicians are perhaps deprived of the Nobel-honor.

Prize value:

The prize money of the Nobel Prize is a whopping amount of ten million Swedish kronor (SEK) that equals almost 1.5 million US Dollars. The value started to grow ever since its foundation. In 1901, the value was 150,782 SEK, far too less than what it is today. It is though, the honor and the prestige that is invaluable and not the money however large be it.

Abhirup Bhunia, Journalism & Mass Communication, University of Calcutta

how is this telescope?

Diameter 50 mm (2")
Focal length 600 mm (24")
Focal ratio F/ 12
Alt-azimuth mount
table tripod
5x24 finder telescope
90° diagonal mirror
eyepieces F 6 mm and H 12.5 mm, dia. 24.5 mm (1")
magnification with supplied eyepieces 100x and 48x
Zoom Eyepiece 6x÷28x
refractor telescope with multicoated optics
Net Weight 1.3 Kgs
Box Dimensions 65 x 23 x 9 cm3

Could i will be able to see the galaxies or nebulas, if not please tell me till how far i can see with this one
I am buying it from ebay
There is no club in Varanasi, uttar pradesh,India. I shall now buy a binocular and read nightwatch.

I suggest you join an astronomy club or at least go to a couple star party's and see what you like.
A good telescope for dso's(deep space objects) is the reflector type and the easiest to use and set up is a dob,(Dobsonian mount).To get a telescope that will give you views of Galaxy's,nebula,clusters and such you will need at least 6" aperture.This is a good place to do some window shopping-
I have 2 of their telescopes a Starblast 6 and an XT 10-I love them both.
Thy really stand behind their products.
Stay away from e-bay and department store telescopes.

Ebay has returned a malformed xml response. This could be due to testing or a bug in the RSS2 Generator. Please check the support forums to see if there are any posts regarding recent RSS2 Generator bugs.
No items matching the keyword phrase "Telescope Tripod" were found. This could be due to the keyword phrase used, or could mean your server is unable to communicate with Ebays RSS2 Server.
CURL error code = 28. (Operation timed out after 20000 milliseconds with 0 bytes received)

Tagged with:

Filed under: Eyepieces & Accessories